The IL-IA Section of the ACS was founded in 1923. The Section includes Bureau, Carroll, Henderson, Henry, Jo Daviess, Mercer, Rock Island, Warren, and Whiteside Counties in Illinois and Clinton, Dubuque, Jackson, Muscatine, and Scott Counties in Iowa. The American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information. A nonprofit organization, chartered by Congress, ACS is at the forefront of the evolving worldwide chemical enterprise and the premier professional home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions around the globe. Learn more about the ACS here.

2022 Executive Committee

Ben Averill


Grain Processing Corporation

David Oostendorp

Past Chair

Loras College, Dept. of Chemistry

Jennifer Schmidt-McCormack


St. Ambrose University, Dept. of Chemistry

Rich Craddick


Kent Nutrition Group (Retired)

Rick Rogers


Grain Processing Corporation

Kelly Giddens

Alternate Councilor

St. Ambrose University, Dept. of Chemistry

Alan Abbott

Chemists Celebrate Earth Week Coordinator

Black Hawk College

Chemistry Olympiad Coordinator